Proposed Virginia Legislation Would Have Banned All Cell-Phone Use While Driving

 Author: Scott Fitzgerald, Law Clerk

Currently, the law in Virginia is that texting while driving is a secondary offense, punishable by a fine of $20.00 for first-time offenders and $50.00 for all subsequent offenses.[1] This year  legislation was proposed  in the Virginia General Assembly which would extend that ban to prohibit all cell-phone use while driving, except for a  "hands-free" device that is  configured for "hands-free" operation and is in that mode.  As proposed, the law would  not apply to emergency vehicle operators, drivers who are lawfully stopped or parked, or anyone who is using a cell phone to report an emergency.[2] The bill passed the Senate by a vote of 26-13, but in the House of…

Read more


Tel : (804) 353-1200
Fax : (804) 257-7599
37.580754 -77.493777
Tel : (804) 733-8753
Fax : (804) 733-8767
37.225366 -77.406431
Tel : (804) 746-4900
Fax : (804) 746-2315
37.609968 -77.353275
Tel : (540) 786-4100
Fax : (540) 786-9585
38.292658 -77.522033
Tel : (804) 836-1170
Fax : (804) 836-1189
37.65165 -77.615287
Tel : (540) 657-9222
Fax : (540) 657-9522
38.476396 -77.421376
Tel : (804) 745-1200
Fax : (804) 745-8997
37.410489 -77.648702
Tel : (434) 295-4961
Fax : (434) 284-4299
38.087828 -78.471035