Author: Robert C. T. Reed, Richmond VA Personal Injury Attorney
Virginia law does not require drivers to carry liability insurance coverage.  Virginia drivers who pay a $500 ‘uninsured motorist’ fee are free to drive on Virginia roads and highways without any insurance at all. Those who do elect to carry liability insurance are only required to purchase $25,000 in coverage. There can be serious obstacles in obtaining financial recovery when a person is seriously injured by an uninsured motorist or someone with limited coverage.
Some people faced with this dire situation may wonder if making a claim is worth it. After taking out attorneys’ fees, case…