Author: Amy S. Whitelaw, Richmond, Virginia Personal Injury Lawyer
Smoking in your car is never a good idea. In addition to the health effects, lighting a cigarette could turn you into a distracted driver. And now there’s one more reason not to smoke in your car. As of July 1, 2016, in Virginia, smoking in your car while a child is present could result in a $100 fine.
It’s all because of a new law that reads:
“It is unlawful for a person to smoke in a motor vehicle, whether in motion or at rest, when a minor under the age of eight is present in the motor vehicle. A violation of this section is punishable by a civil penalty of $100 . . .”
The law bans lighting and holding,…